Three More SENG Faculty Receive Named Professorships

Three leading faculty members of the School of Engineering were recognized with prestigious named professorships at HKUST’s third inauguration ceremony for such honors in March 2016.

The School’s latest awardees were Prof Guillermo Gallego, Chair Professor and Head of Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management (IELM), who became Crown Worldwide Professor of Engineering; Prof Kei May Lau, Chair Professor of Electronic and Computer Engineering, who was named Fang Professor of Engineering; and Prof Qian Zhang, Chair Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, who became Tencent Professor of Engineering. The trio were among a group of eight academics across the University to receive named professorships.

All named professors excel in their respective fields and their outstanding capabilities in teaching and research set an inspiring example to students and assist the University in retaining and extending its world-class standing.

Prof Gallego joined HKUST in January 2016 and as Head of IELM is seeking to bring additional flexibility to the undergraduate program and to foster collaboration with companies in Hong Kong, Mainland China and other areas of Asia. He is an INFORMS Fellow, a Manufacturing and Service Operations Management Society Fellow, and has received many awards, including the INFORMS Revenue Management Section Prize, the Revenue Management Historical Prize, the Revenue Management Practice Prize, and the INFORMS Impact Prize.

Prof Lau is a global expert in semiconductor devices, including LEDs, transistors and lasers. She largely focuses on experimental research, in particular novel materials and nanostructures for device and system integration. Collaborating with groups at University of California, Santa Barbara and Harvard University, her team recently had a major global breakthrough by achieving microscopically small lasers directly on silicon (see also Tiny Lasers Show Way to Light-Based Computing Era). Prof Lau is an IEEE Fellow. Among other recognitions, she is a recipient of the US National Science Foundation Faculty Awards for Women Scientists and Engineers and Hong Kong Croucher Senior Research Fellowship.

Prof Zhang initially specialized in cognitive radio networks at HKUST, making significant contributions to mobility and spectrum management of wireless networks and mobile communications. She is now moving out of “crowded” cognitive networks research and building a remote digital healthcare monitoring program. She is an IEEE Fellow and has received a MIT TR100 world’s top young innovator award. Prof Zhang is also Founder and Co-Director of the Huawei-HKUST Innovation Lab and inventor of about 30 international patents.

The three appointments were made possible by the generosity of community and corporate supporters of HKUST, namely: Crown Worldwide Group, Fang Brothers Group, and Tencent Charity Foundation Limited.

The most recent awards bring the total number of named professors in the School of Engineering to eight. The other five are: Dr William M W Mong Professor of Nanotechnology Prof Hoi-Sing Kwok, Electronic and Computer Engineering; Cheong Ying Chan Professor of Engineering Prof Chung-Yee Lee, Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management; New Bright Professor of Engineering Prof Qiang Yang, Head of Computer Science and Engineering; Swire Professor of Aerospace Engineering Prof Xin Zhang, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; and Hari Harilela Associate Professor of Electronic and Computer Engineering Prof Matthew McKay.